Skip to content

Graduate Student Placement

Graduate Student Placement

We congratulate these graduate students on their recent appointments &/or placements:



Alexander Barrientos, PhD
Jorgen Hansen, PhD, Full time lecturer in philosophy at Utah Valley University
Rhiannon Michael, MS, Pursuing PhD at University of British Columbia
Christen Paradissis, PhD
Kathryn Petrozzo, PhD


  • Derek Halm, PhD, Postdoctoral Fellow at the Institute for Practical Ethics, UC San Diego
  • Spencer Ivy, PhD, Postdoctoral Fellow, Univeristy of Warsaw
  • Lida Sarafrazarpatapeh, PhD, Postdoctoral Fellow, UT San Antonio





  • Eleanor Gilmore-Szott, PhD, Assistant Professor for the Department of Medical Humanities and Bioethics at The University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences 
  • Nicholas Harrison, PhD, Lecturer of Philosophy at Fairfield University, Fairfield, CT; Associate Team Leader at Windhorse Integrative Mental Health, Northampton, MA;  APPA Certified Philosophical Counselor



  • Andrew Greetis, PhD, Adjunct Faculty at University of Colorado at Boulder
  • Daniel Molter, PhD, Lecturer of Philosophy at The University of Tennessee, Knoxville
  • Ryan Nelson, PhD, Assistant Professor at Baylor College of Medicine


  • Colin Lewis, PhD, Instructor of Philosophy at University of Colorado at Colorado Springs
  • Michael Wilson, PhD, Community College of Baltimore County
  • Richard Figueroa, MS, Pursuing PhD at the University of Utah


  • Aaron Kenna, MS, Pursuing PhD at the University of Toronto
  • Anna Vaughn, PhD, Associate Professor of Philosophy at Sacred Heart University
  • Jack Anderson, PhD
  • Louise Pedersen, MS, Pursuing PhD at the University of Utah
  • Lucas Matthews, PhD, Research Scientist in the Department of Psychology at the University of Virginia
  • Quentin Mons, MA, Math Facilitator at Little Elm ISD


  • Brandon Bowen, MS, Pursuing a PhD at the University of Utah
  • Cinnamon Jenson, PhD, Philosophy Instructor at Houston Community College
  • Jamie Hardy, PhD, Adjunct Faculty at Portland State University
  • Landon McBrayer, PhD, Associate Instructor at the University of Utah


  • Kim Johnston, MS, Pursuing  PhD at UCLA
  • Jon Ross, MS, Nutrition and Physical Fitness Writer
  • Jennifer Warriner, PhD, Limited Term  Lecturer  of Philosophy at Simon Fraser University


  • Stephen Capone, MS, Instructor at The McGillis School in Salt Lake City, UT
  • Thomas Hernstein, PhD, Philosophy and Honors Faculty at Northwest Arkansas Community College
  • Charles Hudgins, PhD
  • David JacksonPhD, Adjunct Faculty in Philosophy at Utah Valley University
  • Jason Christopher Jenson, PhD, Philosophy Instructor at Houston Community College
  • John Kippen, MA, EDI Coordinator for UPS Freight
  • Yang Liu, MA,
  • Keisha Ray, PhD, Associate Professor, University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston, McGovern Medical School, Director of McGovern's Center for Humanities and Ethics
  • Stephanie Shiver, MS, Office of Undergraduate Research, Academic Program Advisor, University of Utah


  • Russell Askren, PhD, Associate Instructor, College of Engineering, University of Utah
  • Matthew Mosdell, PhD, Affiliated Faculty, University at Albany, State University of New York
  • Margaret Bowman, PhD
  • Christopher Lean, MS, Post-Doc at the University of Sydney


  • Matthew Barney, MS, Software Engineer at Apple
  • Monika Piotrowska, PhD, Associate Professor, College of Arts and Sciences, University at Albany, State University of New York (tenure-track)
  • Dale Clark, PhD, Lecturer of Philosophy at University of South Dakota
  • Curtis L. Garner, MS,
  • Michael Hermon, PhD
  • Shane SmithMS, Adjunct Faculty in Philosophy at Utah Valley University
  • Conor Walline, MS, Senior Staff Attorney for Tenants Rights at New York Legal Assistance Group (NYLAG)
  • Jeffrey Wood, MS, Adjunct Faculty  in Humanities at Salt Lake Community College

Previous Degrees

  • Xianduan Shi, PhD 2010, Received MBA with distinction and Certificate in Marketing from University of Iowa
  • Troy Booher, PhD 2010, Appellate Attorney at Zimmerman, Jones, Booher in Salt Lake City, UT
  • Joseph Hoffsetz, MS 2010
  • Marissa Lelanuja-Fischer, MS 2010
  • Eirik Harris, PhD 2009, Associate Professor of Philosophy, Colorado State University (tenure-track)
  • Joe Ulatowski, PhD 2008, Senior Lecture, Programme Convenor of Philosophy at the University of Waikato 
  • Nate Rockwood, MS 2008, Assistant Professor at BYU
  • Luke Glowacki, MS 2008, Harvard University's Institute for Advanced Study in Toulouse
  • Ian Smith, PhD 2007, Professor & Chair of Philosophy at Washburn University (tenure-track)
  • Pepe Chang, PhD 2007. Associate Professor, Department of  Management, University of Texas at San Antonio (tenure-track)
  • Diana Buccafurni - Huber, PhD 2007
  • Justen M. Olsen, PhD 2007. 
  • Jan Van Riper, PhD 2006. Institute of Health and Humanities Executive Director
  • Phyllis Vandenberg, PhD 2005.  Professor of Philosophy at Grand Valley State University (Michigan) (tenure-track)
  • Aaron Holland, PhD 2005. CEO of Holland Media Group
  • Susan Downs, MS 2005.
  • Anna Vaughn, MA 2005, Associate Professor.
  • Britta Berkey, MA 2005.
  • Joe Klein, PhD 2004.
  • Shimpei Higuchi, MA 2004.
  • Austin Booth, MS 2004. Postdoctoral Fellow at Dalhousie University
  • Shannon Atkinson, MA 2004, Adjunct Faculty, Utah Valley University. 2013 NISOD Award Recipient
  • David Guevara, PhD 2003. Attorney at Taft, Stettinius, & Hollister LLP
  • James Sage, PhD 2003. Associate Provost at Southern Utah University
  • Mark Phelan, MS 2003. Associate Professor of Philosophy at Lawrence University
  • Ryan Spellecy, PhD 2002. Ursula von der Ruhr Chair in Bioethics, Associate Professor of Bioethics and Medical Humanities, and Psychiatry and Behavioral Health at Medical College of Wisconsin, 2017
  • Jason Goltz, PhD 2002.
  • Matthew Katz, MA 2002. Assistant Professor of Philosophy at Central Michigan University
Last Updated: 6/26/24